League Information


PAFA is a member of the Bill George Youth Football League (BGYFL)

History of the BGYFL

Bill Pope was a founding father of the BGYFL and its President from 1963 to 1975.

In 1963 Bill Pope was able to get Bill George, Joe Fortunato, and Larry Morris (the Chicago Bears' first-string linebacker corps off of what was to be the 1963 Championship team) to travel from franchise to franchise to pitch the new league. While all Bears players committed to making cash contributions, Bill George was the only one to send money so Bill Pope named our League after him. The cash contribution to start the BGYFL was $100.00.

The Chicago Suburban League was formed in 1960 and the BGYFL was created to be a “cut” league or “B” league for the stronger CSL. Over the next thirty years, many towns morphed between the two leagues and or had teams in both leagues. Towns such as Northbrook, Glencoe, Glenside, Hoffman Estates, Hanover Park, Oak Park, Addison, Schaumburg, Glen Ellyn, Bensenville, and Lombard were mainstays in the CSL. Meanwhile, other communities began to emerge in the up-and-coming BGYFL such as West Chicago, Bloomingdale, Streamwood, Bartlett, Carol Stream, and Wheaton. By the late 1980’s the Chicago Suburban League officially disbanded and the BGYFL became the dominant private league in the north suburbs.

Confirm Delete
Click the delete icon again to confirm. Click escape to cancel.